Quarantine Mandated For Travelers To Tristate Area, Effective June 25, 2020
In a press conference earlier today, the Governors of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut announced that travelers to the tristate area from states with spikes in COVID-19 infection rates would be required to quarantine for 14 days. The joint travel advisory applies to individuals traveling to the tristate area from the following states: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah, and Texas.
However, this list of states is subject to change based on the metrics set forth by the joint travel advisory. Any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average, will be required to quarantine.
Individuals traveling from states with high infection rates to New York and who fail to quarantine could be subject to a fine of $2,000 or more.
In light of the new travel advisory, employers should revise their COVID-19 employee back to work questionnaire forms, as well as questionnaire forms issued to visitors and vendors. Employers should specifically ask whether the individual who intends to be on employer premises 1) traveled in the last two weeks; 2) traveled to Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah, or Texas in the last two weeks; and 3) quarantined for 14 days upon return. If the individual did not quarantine for 14 days, employers can deny the individual access to the premises, relying on the joint travel advisory.
Because infection rates are rising in various states, employers should continue to monitor the list of states on the joint travel advisory.
Kelley Drye will continue to stay up to date on federal and state guidance that will impact return to work considerations. As always, please reach out to your Kelley Drye professional for advice on these and other matters.