New FCC Chairman Julius Genachowski Takes Office, Announces Staff

Julius Genachowski became the Chairman of the FCC on June 29. Mr. Genachowski began announcing his staff the same day. His Chief of Staff is Ed Lazarus, most recently a lawyer in private practice in the Washington, D.C. office of the firm of Akin Gump. Like Chairman Genachowski, Mr. Lazarus served as a clerk for the U.S. Supreme Court (Justice Blackmun). In addition, the Chairman’s office announced two senior advisors and two legal advisors.

Colin Crowell will hold the title Senior Counselor to the Chairman. Mr. Crowell has spent more than 20 years working on telecommunications issues as a Congressional staff member for Congressman Ed Markey and the House Subcommittee on Telecommunications.

The other senior advisor is Bruce Gottlieb, who will serve as Chief Counsel to the Chairman. Mr. Gottlieb spent the prior three years as an advisor to FCC Commissioner Copps and, before that, was in private law practice in D.C. with the firm of Harris Wiltshire.

Priya Aiyar will hold the title of Legal Advisor focusing on wireline competition and international issues. She was most recently in private practice with the D.C. firm of Kellogg Huber. Ms. Aiyar also served as a Supreme Court clerk (Justice Breyer) and was a Rhodes Scholar.

Sherrese Smith will be the Legal Advisor for media, consumer and enforcement issues. Ms. Smith most recently was Vice President and General Counsel of Washington Post Digital and, before that, practiced law with the D.C. firm of Arnold and Porter.