Senate Confirms Two New CPSC Commissioners

Late Thursday night, the Senate confirmed President Obama’s two appointments to the Consumer Product Safety Commission (“CPSC” or Commission”), Marietta S. Robinson and former Representative Ann Marie Buerkle. The Senate Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee confirmed the women by unanimous consent, without hearings, ensuring that the upcoming departure of Commissioner Nancy Nord will not leave the Commission without a quorum.

While Ms. Robinson, a Democrat, was nominated in January 2012 and again in January 2013, Congress unsurprisingly did not act until it had a Republican nominee to consider as well. Ms. Robinson will fill the spot vacated by Thomas Moore, and her term will expire in October 2017. Rep. Buerkle will fill the spot vacated by Ann Northup, and her term will expire in October 2018. Background information on Ms. Robinson is available here, and on Rep. Buerkle here.