Six Kelley Drye Attorneys Named to Leadership of the ABA Antitrust Section

William C. MacLeod Elected Vice-Chair of ABA Antitrust Section

The American Bar Association’s Section of Antitrust Law has elected William C. MacLeod as its Vice Chair for 2015.  He joins five other Kelley Drye attorneys – Alysa Hutnik, John Villafranco, Christie Thompson and Dana Rosenfeld – who also took leadership roles within the Section.

Among the Vice Chair’s responsibilities is the long range planning of the section.  Bill will head that effort in 2014 and 2015.  Before assuming his current rule, he was the Section’s Program Officer, its Delegate to the ABA House of Delegates, and its Consumer Protection Officer. 

With more than 7,500 members, the ABA Section of Antitrust Law is the world’s leading professional organization for antitrust and competition law, trade regulation, consumer protection, and economics.  Over 30 committees and groups in the Section cover topics from monopolies to advertising to privacy and produce more than 150 programs on current antitrust and consumer protection topics, including the annual Spring Meeting, which draws nearly 3,000 attendees from 60 nations.1  The Section also publishes three industry-leading periodicals: the Antitrust Law Journal, Antitrust magazine, and The Antitrust Source

The other Kelley Drye attorneys with senior leadership positions at the ABA Antitrust Section for 2015 are:

  • Privacy and Information Security Partner Alysa Z. Hutnik, Section Council Member.  Alysa is a Past Chair of the ABA’s Privacy and Information Security Committee, was the Editor-in-Chief of the ABA’s Data Security Handbook, a Co-Chair of the ABA’s 2011 Consumer Protection Conference, and has been an Editor and Contributor to the ABA’s newsletter, The Secure Times, which addresses privacy and data security legal developments.
  • Advertising and Marketing Partner John E. Villafranco, Chair of the Advertising Disputes and  Litigation Committee.  John is the former Chair of the ABA Consumer Protection Committee and was the Editor-in-Chief of the Consumer Protection Law Developments treatise (1st ed.). He also Chaired the Consumer Protection Conference in 2007 and 2009, was a member of the ABA Antitrust Section’s Presidential Transition Report Task Force and the International Task Force, and was the Co-Chair of the 2011-2012 Antitrust Section Spring Meetings.
  • Advertising and Marketing Practice Chair Christie Grymes Thompson, Vice Chair of the Membership and Diversity Committee.  Christie is also a former Chair of the ABA Consumer Protection Committee, a former Member of the Nominating Committee, and a former Vice Chair of the Long-Range Planning Committees.
  • Privacy and Information Security Practice Chair Dana B. Rosenfeld, Vice Chair of the Privacy and Information Security Committee.  Dana is the former Vice Chair of the  Committee on Private Advertising Litigation, and the former Associate Editor of the ABA’s ANTITRUST magazine.