Partner Paul Rosenthal and Senior Associate Melissa Brewer Win 2018 Burton Award for Achievement in Legal Writing

Paul Rosenthal, co-chair of Kelley Drye’s Government Relations and Public Policy practice, and senior associate Melissa Brewer have been selected as winners of the 2018 Burton Awards for Legal Achievement, which honors excellence in legal writing. The winning submission, EU Proposal for New Antidumping Methodology Pending as China Requests WTO Consultations With EU,” was published by Bloomberg Law International Trade Daily in March 2017.  

The article discusses China’s filing of a request for consultation with the U.S. and the EU regarding a continuing provision in its WTO accession agreement - the provision that requires WTO members to use Chinese prices only when Chinese producers can show that market economy conditions prevail in their industry.  This provision assumes that nonmarket conditions prevail unless and until Chinese producers can prove otherwise and, has broad implications for U.S. industries that rely on antidumping duty orders to provide relief from Chinese market distortions.  The authors review the divergent approaches being taken by the European Union and the U.S. to this nascent dispute, the potential near term trade implications for both parties and the next steps in the WTO dispute process.

Law360 general manager Scott Roberts said, Clear, compelling writing is an essential tool for all lawyers. Law360 is proud to be associated with these awards, which recognize the best of the best writers in the legal profession. We salute all of the winners and commend them on demonstrating these talents and sustaining such high standards of written excellence.”

The 2018 honor was given to only 31 articles, selected from entries submitted by the country’s 1,000 most prestigious largest law firms. The Burton Awards, a non-profit program run in association with the Library of Congress, is sponsored by Law360 and the American Bar Association. The awards ceremony will be held at the Library of Congress on May 21, 2018. 

For more information on the Burton Awards, click here.