Best Lawyers Honors Partner Henry T. Kelly as Chicago Communications Law "Lawyer of the Year"
September 14, 2012

Henry T. Kelly, managing partner of Kelley Drye & Warren LLP’s Chicago office, was named the Best Lawyers’ 2013 Chicago Communications Law “Lawyer of the Year.” 

Best Lawyers compiles its lists of outstanding attorneys by conducting exhaustive surveys in which thousands of leading lawyers confidentially evaluate their peers.  Mr. Kelly was honored as “Lawyer of the Year” after having received particularly impressive voting averages, which reflect the high level of respect his peers have for his abilities, professionalism and integrity. Only a single lawyer in each practice area and designated metropolitan area is honored as the “Lawyer of the Year,” making this accolade particularly significant.

For more than 25 years, Mr. Kelly has advocated for companies in telecommunications-related litigation matters involving commercial transactions, intellectual property, municipal regulation, class action defense, state and federal preemption issues, and actions enforcing state and federal telecommunications laws. 

Mr. Kelly recently represented Madison Dearborn Partners in the telecommunications due diligence related to their sale of NextG Communications to Crown Castle for $1 billion. 

He also successfully defended Peerless Network, a growing carrier in Chicago, against communications patent infringement claims by a competitor.  In this proceeding, the client prevailed in a critical motion for preliminary injunction and won the case on summary judgment.  He vigorously represented his client in the Court of Appeals, the District Court, and at the U.S. Patent Office. 

Mr. Kelly has represented an impressively wide variety of clients.  This honor recognizes not only the depth of Mr. Kelly’s experiences but also his extensive range of issues and cases handled.  This includes trial experience in more than 11 state public service commissions, and litigating communications enforcement actions in state and federal courts including those in Illinois, California, Connecticut, the District of Columbia, Ohio, Texas and Virginia.